skip navigation
Home Associations MAHA District 8 About Contact

About the CUP Hockey League

Brief History of the League

Prior to 1989, Central UP associations or individual team coaches independently scheduled games for their teams, resulting in many predictable problems. Realizing the need for improvement in the scheduling process, Escanaba's Ward Johnsen organized area associations into a league which would ensure more even competition for its members and more reliable game schedules.

The League began play in 1989 with the following charter members:

  • Dickinson County
  • Escanaba
  • Iron Range
  • Manistique
  • Marinette-Menominee
  • Marquette

Additions occurred as follows:

  • 1994 Calumet, Copper Country
  • 1996 Baraga, L'Anse, Ontonagon
  • 1998 Ironwood
  • 1998 Baraga and L'Anse merge to form Keweenaw Bay, accepted into membership
  • 2001 Iron River, Munising
  • 2004 Newberry
  • 2013 Marinette-Menominee readmitted to membership

Marinette-Menominee's membership was terminated in 2001 for lack of participation, and St. Ignace was denied membership the same year.  Marinette-Menominee received conditional membership in 2012, and was readmitted as a full member in 2013.

Check the links on the left for further information about the League.